Hairor

Products

Sometimes people ask me how I get my curls looking defined. After giving them the stink eye because I assume they’re taking the piss, I relent and mumble something about conditioner. That’s not the whole story.

Medusa 2

This is me – first thing in the morning. Eek! Don’t look or you might turn to stone! Also, please ignore the ratty polish… I may have had a bottle glass of vino the night before. 

The thing about difficult hair (and I do have difficult hair – I don’t care what anyone says) is that I have no idea how to deal with it. I never have. When I get up in the morning I look like Medusa. I’m not lying even a little bit. I usually tie it back stat, but sometimes I leave it to give my roomie a laugh. They should issue an instruction booklet to curly haired children. Really.

People sometimes give me a hard time about showering every day, but a. I like to be clean (next to Godliness you know), and b. I don’t want to frighten small children always. I don’t know what to do with my hair if I don’t get it wet. I don’t flat iron it very often because it exhausts me, I don’t curl it because, well, why would I? I can’t leave it looking like a ball of frizz that I pulled out of the drain, so what am I supposed to do? The only thing I can fathom doing is getting it wet and then thoroughly dousing it with every frizz taming product I can get my hands on. I always let my hair air dry because, in spite of what every hairdresser ever has told me, diffusers make my hair frizzy. Also, I do not want to spend more than one minute doing my hair. I want to get dressed because clothes are fun, doing my hair is torture.

Sometimes I see girls who have really thick curly hair and it’s all over the place and it looks awesome. My hair is fine, this means that you only have to look at it to make the curls come apart and turn into frizz. The horror.

Anyway, what’s my point? I don’t really have one, but here are some products that help, just help mind you, nothing more.

L'Oreal Evercreme

First thing’s first my pets: condition, condition, condition, and then condition some more. In addition to the conditioner I use in the shower, I follow up with a leave-in conditioner while my hair is still wet. Right now I’m using this one from L’Oreal and loving it. It smells like caramel, yum. Since cutting my hair short again I haven’t needed it as much, but it’s a great product to dig out on those extra humid days.

Hair Oil

Next I add a couple drops of hair oil. I used Moroccan Oil for a long time, but I’ve found that, in addition to being super spendy, it’s actually a touch heavy for my fine locks. I love, love, LOVE this one from Ojon (available from Sephora) and would definitely buy it again. I grabbed the Marc Anthony Oil on a whim while at Shopper’s and I have to say I quite like it. It smells like sum sum summa-time! I find that both of these products work just as well as Moroccan Oil, if not better.

IMG_0499Lastly, I add a dime-sized amount of styling cream. I love Potion 9. I’ve used it for years, and I don’t imagine I’ll stop. It’s a cult product for a reason. I bought the Bumble and Bumble Curl Conscious Defining Creme a couple of years ago after scouring the entire city for Potion 9 and not having any luck. I don’t particularly like the Curl Creme actually. It’s really easy to use too much and end up with greasy looking locks; I also find it quite heavy for my hair and it creates a lot of build-up. I won’t buy it again.

Oribe

Sometimes at the end of the day my hair needs a bit of a boost, a refresher. I like volume. To achieve some texture I like to add a few sprays of dry shampoo, or of my latest obsession: Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray. Holycrapthisstuffisamazing. It smells great, very grown-up but not in a floral way. It just gives hair some oomf. It does create a lot of build-up, but since I don’t use it everyday I don’t mind having to wash it out. Highly recommend giving this stuff a try!

So there you have it! Now you know all of my secrets!

What’s your hair routine (if it’s rolling out of bed and sticking your glossy, straight hair in a cute pony then we are friends-off I’m afraid)?

P.S. I know these photos are all out of focus/over-exposed/under-exposed but my camera and I are still getting to know one another.

Comments make me smile!

