Renaissance Girl

So you guys have probably noticed that my love affair with the Body Shop has been going through a bit of a renaissance lately. I just think that they have great products at completely reasonable prices. I’ve been branching out in what I buy there, in the past I’ve just stuck to body wash and lotion, and I’ve been very pleased.

Recently I’ve been hearing a lot about cleansing balms on different blogs and on YouTube. In particuar, the Emma Hardie cleansing balm has been getting a lot of attention. It sounds divine but I just can’t stomach spending $56 or more on a cleanser. Seems a little cray, oui? Enter The Body Shop. They do a cleansing butter (same thing my pets) at a regular girl price point! The Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter is about $16 and is just divine.

image

I got mine for 50% off! Anyway, it’s a solid in the pan but as you work it into your face it melts into a lovely, indulgent oil. It melts off make-up in moments and rinses off easily leaving your skin squeaky clean and moisturized.  I really enjoy using this product. I take it off with a warm face cloth and it’s lovely; almost as nice as a hot bath. It’s also very gentle. I massage it right into my eyelids and it doesn’t irritate my eyes at all.

image

As you can see, I’ve already used it a lot! I think this cleansing butter is destined to become a staple in my skin care routine.

How do you take your make-up off?

13 thoughts on “Renaissance Girl

  1. I need this in my life. I think I am rubbing all my eyelashes off trying to get my eyemake- up off. I like products that do face and eyes at the same time. I need to see if we have this in UK body shops. Thanks!!

  2. My only fear is that it might make my skin break out – is it non-comedogenic? (does it say on the packaging?) Otherwise, it sounds fantastic! I’ve made my mum a convert to Body Shop for their Cocoa Body Butter – she loves it and this is a woman who used to think Vaseline Intensive Care was an indulgent treat back in the day!

      • I may have to give it a try then. My current eye makeup remover pads suck so something different to take off the eye makeup may be a welcome change. Hopefully, it’s not so thick as face/cold cream for taking makeup off – that stuff does make me break out (and probably causes humungous clogs in drains from all the grease/oils in cold cream). Any signs that the face butter irritates eyes? My eyes don’t need an excuse to get all dry, sore and stingy (contacts give them enough of a reason for that).

        For my usual face wash/makeup removal, I use a light cleanser like Cetaphil (or cheaper generic/store brand version) for a rinse. Then put another layer of the cleanser on and use my Olay skin brush for a round over my face. Then rinse and use either witch hazel on a cotton pad or Garnier grape oil toner on a cotton pad. Now, with the colder/drier weather, I put Nivea creme on my face before bed.

  3. I love my skin brush – I’m too frugal (hell, cheap!) to spend a wad of cash on the Clairsonic one but I’ve been using the Olay one for over a year (with a non-scented gentle skin cleanser rather than the microdermabrasion style gritty cleansers included with the kit) and my skin is much more manageable – it seems to soak up my moisturizers better and I’ve had fewer severe cases of flaky face in the winter months. Even my breakouts seem to be fewer and far between.

Comments make me smile!

