What to do when your date is a psycho, or business as usual in my life

So today I’m going to talk about something that I rarely touch on here – my personal life! For obvious reasons (at least I think they’re obvious) I prefer to keep my offline life private, but I just have to talk about this. Dating. It’s a minefield friends. Especially in Vancouver, where it’s apparently harder to meet a man than, say, take a weekend jaunt to the moon. Anyway, I do go on dates somewhat regularly and it’s fun, very Sex and the City except that in my life the cocktails are replaced with pitchers of beer, and the designer shoes are replaced with, well, regular shoes.

A few weekends ago I had a date with a guy who, at first, seemed normal and kind of sweet. Perhaps I should have known when he showed up wearing skinny jeans…. anyway, we had a nice time and I agreed to a second date. He called me the next day (I was gob-smacked, everyone knows you have to wait three days for a guy to call) to say what a nice time he’d had – again very sweet. We texted through the following week and arranged a Scrabble date. He ended up getting sick and wasn’t able to make it, no big deal.

Then it got weird.

He texted me around midnight (a little late, no?) and he was very apologetic. I assured him that it was fine and that we could reschedule. When I told him that I wasn’t available until the following weekend he kind of freaked out and asked if I’d met someone else. I hadn’t, but after only one date I didn’t think it was any of his business. I said good-night and thought that was that. I woke up the next morning to a bunch of texts sent at 6:00 am, which were very weird. He was “desperate” to see me and wanted to hang out – at 6:00 am. I don’t think so. I told him that I thought his texts were a bit odd and left it at that. I didn’t hear from him all day, and then finally around 8:00 pm he sent me a text saying that he liked me, but was looking for something more “serious and on-going.” Fine with me. I wish him good luck and then deleted his number from my phone.

Anyway, to make a long story short, he’s continued to text me. I’ve ignored him and hoped he’d get the point. Not so. This morning I woke up to a text of a cartoon reading “Thanks for being a d!#k and ignoring my texts.” I ignored that too. Honestly, we went on ONE date. ONE. Any tips?

Have you ever had a date turn very weird?

7 thoughts on “What to do when your date is a psycho, or business as usual in my life

  1. Fortunately, I’ve steered clear of psychos. I’m not sure why he didn’t get the message when you told him good luck, but maybe send him one more text saying you’re not interested and say this is the last time you’ll respond to his text. Don’t insult him or anything just keep it short and sweet. Hopefully, a clear, concise message with no fluff or coating will get through to him. Good luck with this one, gf.

  2. It sounds like he has some serious mental health issues going on. The safest thing to do is to ignore him completely, so he will eventually give up.

Comments make me smile!

