For the love of toner

So I haven’t really blogged about my skin care routine because, frankly, I think it’s kind of dull. That said, I do take good care of my skin because you only get one face. I think it’s a good idea to look after it. Ya feel me? I don’t do anything super fancy but I definitely have a few products I swear by. For me, exfoliating, toning, and moisturizing are the keys to healthy looking skin. I recently ran out of toner and I wanted to try something new. I headed to the good old Body Shop, I’ve been obsessed with it lately, and picked up a bottle of the Seaweed Clarifying Toner.

image

This toner is supposed to remove impurities and refine pores. I haven’t really noticed a difference in my pores (does anyone ever actually see a change? ) but I do like this stuff. It’s really good for catching any make up I missed when washing my face and it’s super gentle. It’s also going to last for ages, which is nice. My only complaint is that the bottle isn’t very squeezy. Overall I think I will definitely be repurchasing this product.

On the same trip I also purchased a tub of the Vitamin E Illuminating Moisture Cream.

image

With the change in seasons my skin had been feeling a little dry and I wanted a richer moisturizer. I read positive reviews of this one on a few blogs and I wasn’t disappointed.

image

This cream is very silky and luxurious. It’s not greasy and just gives that extra bit of hydration that I was looking for. It’s a day cream but I’ve been using it at night as well because I’m lazy a rebel and it does the job nicely. It claims to be light reflecting but to be honest I really haven’t noticed anything like that; however, I like this cream and I will definitely buy it again.

P.S. I am still completely obsessed with the Chocomania Dry Oil. Have you tried it yet? I think that you should.

What’s your skin care routine?

4 thoughts on “For the love of toner

  1. I really love using witch hazel instead of traditional toners. Too many toners have a slight fragrance in them or have some sort of oil added to the mix that I can feel on my skin for hours afterwards – my skin can be oily enough, I don’t really need a toner making it feel even more so. I’ve started using Nivea creme moisturizer (which quite frankly I always equated with little old lady moisturizer) now with the crisper weather on the way – I read an article based out of the UK recently comparing the effects of Nivea Creme with Creme de la Mer (the uber-expensive cream tons of celebs seem to swear by) for moisturizing and wrinkle-minimizing – the results came back that Nivea kicked Creme de la Mer’s moisturizing butt! I’ve noticed a huge difference in my skin since starting to use a version of the Clairsonic (I use the Olay brand version because I’m cheap) – fewer breakouts and dry skin is more manageable as I’m exfoliating more often. Looks like you are a regular Body Shop visitor – any fragrance-free/ minimal fragrance moisturizers from there you can recommend?

    • The Vitamin E Moisturizor is scented… kind of like Ponds cold cream or something. It’s the only moisturizer of theirs that I’ve tried unfortunately but they do have an unscented range. I’ve used witch hazel as toner as well but I’ve found that toners formulated for oily skin work best for me:)

Comments make me smile!

