My little bottle of miracle oil

Ok y’all, I am a curly haired lass. That means that I hate my hair, and I always have. I have never wanted anything more than I want long, swishy, straight hair. Alas, it is not meant to be. I’ve recently (within the last two or three years) started coming to terms with the fact that I’m never going to wake up and have straight hair. That means that I have started trying to work with my hair rather than attempting to beat it into straight submission. For the first time in my life I have a really fantastic (read “expensive”) hair cut, and it makes a huge difference. The other thing that makes a difference is product. I’ve tried all kinds, high end, as well as drug store buys. Some of my favourites include Potion 9 by Sebastian, an AG leave-in conditioner, and Morrocan Oil.

The first time I used Morrocan Oil I was floored. My hair had movement; those of you with curls know what I’m talking about. Each curl was defined, shiny, and bouncy. It was a happy day. The thing about Morrocan Oil is the price point. It’s spendy my friends. Moving to Vancouver meant taking a HUGE pay cut (if I think about it too much I start to feel a bit sick), and since chopping my locks I’ve actually found Morrocan Oil to be a touch too heavy. I’ve tried a couple of drugstore alternatives with no luck, but I eventually stumbled upon the Ojon damage reverse Instant Restorative Hair Serum. I think a full size bottle is around $30 but I got mine for “free” in exchange for 100 Sephora rewards points.

20130507_203913

Unfortunately the first time I used it I managed to dump half the bottle all over the bathroom counter (sob); however, a little of this stuff goes a loooong way so it’ll last a good long while. What we have here folks is a holy grail product. This stuff is amaze-balls. I use two drops and it’s more than enough for my entire mop. I rub it betwixt my palms, smooth it into wet hair, shake, and go! Fantastic! Each curl is defined, holds its shape, and is nice and shiny. I luuuurve this stuff.

20130507_203946

Do you guys have any suggestions for a good alternative to Morrocan Oil? Have you tried this oil?

6 thoughts on “My little bottle of miracle oil

  1. I have curly hair, but I have never tried oils in my hair. I rarely straighten my hair, so it’s healthy for the most part. A few years ago, I would have totally agreed with you about wanting to wake up with straight hair. Now, I like my curly hair. It makes me, me. 🙂

  2. Exactly! One thing about curly hair is that it’s kind of unique! Sometimes I like the fact that my hair is a little on the wild side. I totally recommend giving an oil the old college try, you’ll be blown away. I promise!

  3. I love R&B Hair moisturiser by Lush.It’s packed with loads of goodies- avocado butter, oatmeal, olive oil, extra virgin coconut oil, jojoba oil and candelilla wax. It looks thick, but my hair is wavy and it doesn’t weight it down, just helps keep it frizz free and soft. Also love Macadamia Oil and Josie Maran’s Argan oil! Totally wish I had straight hair too- ahhh a hassle free life, when it comes to hair anyway 🙂

Comments make me smile!

