Polky-Dots

Hello! Have you missed me friends? I’ve certainly missed you!

I don’t often polish my nails, because I’m simply too lazy busy. Once in a while I get around to it and, while I do enjoy the way it looks, my nails are usually chipping by the second day. Anyway, I recently aquired a fun purple for sping and wanted to give it a whirl. Down I sat last night with my new bottle of Essie Play Date and went to town.

Essie 2

Essie polishes have received a lot of attention over the last few years and I was anxious to give the brand a try. Play date is a very pretty colour but the brush is small (I love the wide O.P.I. brushes), and the polish does not go on evenly. Some nails required two coats, some only one, and others needed three before the same opacity was achieved on all fingers.

Essie

The finish is nice, not super glossy; however, it’s day one and already the polish is wearing away on the tops of my nails. For $11 I don’t think Essie provides a lot of bang for your buck. It’s too bad because they do have quite a few pretty colours.

Polkadots

Just for fun I finished the look off with some pink O.P.I. (can’t remember the name unfortunately) polkadots!

Have you tried any nail art recently?

2 thoughts on “Polky-Dots

  1. Swipe your nails with acetone based polish remover before you apply a base coat. It strips any oils off the nails and the polish adheres better. I started doing this when I paint my nails and they last about 4 days without massive chips.

Comments make me smile!

