Balancing Act

I’m a curvy girl, and I like it; however, it does present some challenges when dressing. It’s easy to veer into, *ahem*, less than lady-like territory… if you know what I mean, and I’m sure you do because I’m about as subtle as a dump truck. It’s also easy to make myself look much heavier than I actually am by adding bulk to my already generous curves.

Every morning I’m faced with the task of making the most of my hourglass shape, while remaining office appropriate and professional. Enter skirts and dresses. I find it so much easier to throw on a dress than deal with trousers, and tucked-in shirts, and belts. I tend to graviate towards pencil skirts because I’ve always thought that I couldn’t pull off a fuller skirt. Friends, I was wrong. It was simply a matter of finding the right skirt.

OOTD

This little beauty works for me! It cinches me in at the waist, and it flows over my hips without making me look too bottom heavy. The best thing about it? I got it at Forever 21 for $21! What a steal! Forever 21 can be great for basic pieces like this. You have to be willing to hunt but if you do you can come away with a steal of a deal that looks like it cost a lot more!

The details:

Booties

Ring

Skirt: Forever 21, Blouse: Given to me by a friend, Tights: Joe Fresh, Ankle Boots: Little Burgundy, Necklace: House of Harlow 1960, Ring: Evernew, Watch: Bleonged to my dad, Nail Polish: Essie, Play Date

Have you ever overcome a challenge with your figure?

6 thoughts on “Balancing Act

Comments make me smile!

