Once On the Lips

For years my daily lip routine has consisted of a lipstain and a slick of gloss; however, I have recently become keen on wearing lipstick. It’s part of my bid to be taken seriously as an adult… I’ll let you know how that turns out. I do have a few in my collection but they are all bright red or pink, not very daytime or office friendly. 

Off I went to Sephora in the hopes of securing a nice berry shade. I immediately flagged down one of the shop assistants and presented her with the daunting task of helping me find a “berry nude… you know?”

Friends, she knew. After a brief kerfuffle in which she attempted to lead me to the YSL section (she was quickly informed that I don’t have that many pennies) we landed at the Sephora Collection. She waved her hand over the lipsticks and pulled out the perfect shade! It was just like magic!

photo 1

The winner? Sephora Collection Rouge Shine Lipstick in No. 37 (Sweet Dreams). This lipstick is glossy perfection at the reasonable price point of $15. It’s fairly long-wearing, lasting on me from 8:00 am to noon and through two cups of coffee, a tea, and the cupcake muffin banana I eat for breakfast. I reapply it after lunch and then I’m good for the rest of the afternoon. It’s non-drying, the consistency reminds me of a lip butter. It’s also lightly berry flavoured scented. The major bonus for me is that it does not bleed, which is usually a major problem.

photo 2

If you’re looking for a nice lipstick at a reasonable price the Sephora Collection is a safe bet. I’ve yet to try anything else from this line but I’m certainly going to come back to it for future purchases!

photo

This colour is only a shade or two darker than my natural lip colour, which makes it easy to wear and match with the rest of my make-up.

 Have you tried the Sephora Collection?

4 thoughts on “Once On the Lips

Comments make me smile!

