OCD… Who? Me?

I love me a bold lip. I don’t have a lot of pigmentation in my lips so I feel that I tend to look super washed-out, and kind of undead, without a slick of gloss or lippy. Lately, I’ve been on the hunt for a nice daytime lipstick (no, I haven’t been shopping!). My current lipsticks are all bold reds or bright pinks, which are a lot of fun but not really suitable for the office… I don’t want to be that girl (you know the one: low-cut blouse and loud make-up, every office has one).

I was in Sephora a while ago and grabbed the Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar in Queen. I chose this colour specifically because it looked like a nice, daytime appropriate shade of coral-red. I also noticed that the product is vegan and cruelty-free; I’m always happy if no bunnies were hurt in the production of my beauty products.

Lip Tar

The fun thing about this product is the application. You paint it on with a little brush. Sephora explains: “Flash a fabulous smile and a stunning splash of color with this lip formula that combines the longevity of a lipstick with the breezy application of a gloss.” The Lip Tar does have impressive staying power. My lips were painted all day long. The problem? After about an hour my lips had turned a shade of shocking, day-glow pink. Not appropriate for work, and not at all the colour I had been hoping for. However, that’s not a huge issue as I now  have another fun pink for nightime. My real issue with this product is the tiny brush. It’s a cute idea but it’s far too small to keep in the basket I keep my other brushes in, I also can’t just throw it in lose with my make-up as it will immediately be lost forever. I ended up securing it to the Lip Tar tube with a hair elastic – not ideal!

Have you had better luck?

2 thoughts on “OCD… Who? Me?

  1. And you really need to clean the brush! The Lip Tar really sticks to it! I just read another blog review and I have 7 shades of Lip Tar. I like it but wanted to try a bunch of colors before I made my final judgement!

Comments make me smile!

