Sticky Situation

I have the oiliest skin you’ve ever seen. I’m constantly sopping up slicks on my t-zone with oil absorbing sheets (my favourite ones are made by Bioré). I’ve been told that it’s a good thing, because when I’m old I’ll have young looking skin. Woopie. I want good skin now while I’m still *ahem* young.

I wash my face twice a day with a tea tree oil cleanser. I use a daily exfoliating scrub every morning in the shower. I use a toner, and a little cooling eye gel. I stopped using face cream when I moved to Vancouver because it’s so humid here. With all of these ministrations my skin has become a tad less oily. A tad. The downside, however, is that I often wake up with flaky, over dried skin. Unpleasant. Last night I tried something new. I slathered Morrocan Oil, which I use on my hair (MIRACLE product), all over my face. I left it on for half an hour and then rinsed with warm water.

It felt super greasy on, and it took a lot of self control not to rinse it off immediately. I also somehow managed to get it all over my glasses, what a disaster that was!

The result? I woke up this morning with nary a flake in sight, and dewy, soft skin! I highly recommend giving this a try if you’re finding yourself with over-dried skin. I love a good multipurpose product!

What are your secrets for dealing with problem skin?

2 thoughts on “Sticky Situation

  1. Yeah, that’s a tricky one! I got similar problem and have been using lots of products and spending ridiculous amounts of money on them! But I came to conclusion – less is more. The best cream which worked for me, was l’ occitane brand, mattyfing series with red rice; absorbing well, not cakey and not rolling under foundation, but pricey as well and I was just using it so quickly. It didn’t also keep my skin matt all day so need to redo it during the day. Generally, I think overdoing with all cosmetic treatments like everyday scrub, can actually make problem worse as it stimulates pores to produce more oil. So keep it simple. I swapped my daily moisturizer to rosehip oil which I gently masage around, leave it for few minutes to sink in and then wipe it off with floral water. Witch hazel is really good as it tightens the pores, but any toner would do. And that’s it in the morning. During the day I use tissues to matt my skin and a swirl of mineral powder. Any readers has any other ideas?

Comments make me smile!

